School Logo



What’s it all about?

The school community will be coming together to raise funds by taking part in a challenge to walk, run, cycle or swim (or a mixture of them all!) a number of miles over a seven day period (21st – 28th May). Each child will be asked to make a pledge which will set their personal target for the week. This is designed for the children to challenge themselves by setting a target which suits their own ability and time availability. Ideally, we’re hoping parents/guardians will be able to support the children with the challenge outside of school. However, every child will be given the opportunity to complete a mile on a school day during the challenge week, so everyone will be able to participate.

To encourage a bit of competition, the child who completes the most miles in their year group will be entered into a prize draw to win a family ticket for 4 for the Bear Trial. 

The total number of miles pledged will generate the school target. Can we achieve it? Can we smash it?!!! Record of Miles Attached is the sponsorship form where you will find a table to record the amount of miles you do. You might choose to do a little bit over a number of days, or do lots at the weekend – it’s up to you! In addition, the Sports Leaders from Kestrel Class will be gathering the number of miles on a daily basis from each year group. This will be used to indicate how close the school is to achieving the target. Don’t forget to take a photo of the children completing their challenge and upload it onto Class Dojo or Tapestry so they can share in each other’s adventures. Sponsorship Form We’re sure family and friends will be keen to support the children in their challenge by sponsoring them.


All money raised will be used to provide essential resources for our children at Oake, Bradford and Nynehead C of E (VC) Primary School. Sponsorship can be made easily by cash via our school PTA Just Giving page. Just - Simply search for Oake, Bradford and Nynehead School. You will find our page in the charity section, thank you. A link will be circulated via our facebook page too. Please return your completed sponsorship form to the school office, together with any cash sponsorship, in a sealed envelope marked with your child’s name, class and ‘Miles in May Sponsorship’ by Friday 11th June. Celebrate! The children will be super proud of their accomplishment and to ensure they have a reminder of how hard they have all worked each child will be presented with a personalised medal on Friday 28th May. On Friday 18th June we will announce the final figures for miles completed and funds raised, plus reveal the winner of the prize draw. Thank you!! We very much appreciate any support you can give to this event and hope that you and the children enjoy being involved.

Let’s hope it brings miles of smiles!

Good luck to everyone!

Yours sincerely, Friends of Oake, Bradford and Nynehead School



Our next  meeting will be held on Wednesday 11th November at 8pm. Please contact the office (via email) if you would like to be sent an invite to the Zoom meeting. We would love your help.



Friends of Oake, Bradford and Nynehead School

Welcome to all parents old and new. For those that are not aware of the Friends of Oake, Bradford and Nynehead School let us introduce ourselves.

Who are We?

The Friends of Oake, Bradford and Nynehead School are a group of parents who work together to support our school.

What do we do?

We are a friendly bunch who meet quarterly to discuss and organise upcoming events. These events range from annual fireworks display and Summer fetes to non-school uniform days and film screenings.

What does this enable us to do?

Over the years, we have been able to provide some great visits and school equipment for the children.

Last year, we

· Partly funded a trip to a Christmas theatre productions at the Brewhouse for all children;

· Partly funded transport costs for school trips and activities;

· Funded electronic resources (Twinkl, Digimaps, Phonics Play, TT Rock Stars ect);

· Purchased book for a number of year groups;

· Provided play equipment and fencing for the playground; and

· Funded the National Trust membership

What can you do to help?

Unfortunately, it is likely that some of our main fundraising events will not go ahead this year. Therefore we need to be even more inventive and creative with fundraising ideas. We are also low in numbers as a result of children moving to pastures new. Therefore, we really need more lovely parents to come join us. There is a wealth of skills, talents and experience amongst us and it would be great if we could utilise this to the benefit of the school community. So please join our next AGM meeting and find out how you can get involved.

PTA committee members

Chairperson.                              Liz Summers

Vice Chair.                                  Leigh Sidhu

Secretary.                                   Helen Trowbridge     Sheryl Hunt (Jan 2021)

Easy Fundraising Rep.              Kate McCann

Treasurer                                    Julie Jones



Fund Raising: - The school ID is 32323

‘’School life is a lot easier when things don't go missing, so labelling your child’s belongings can be of big help. The My Nametags labels are extremely hardwearing and save a great deal of effort and potential lost property. They can be used on school uniforms, brownies/guides clothes, football kits, in fact almost anything. For every order of personalised labels, My Nametags will contribute 24% of the order value to the school. Order online at and use our unique School ID number, you'll be raising much needed money for the school’’

Raise funds via easyfundraising!

Here’s How It Works…

It takes 2 minutes to set up. Go on to the easyfundraising website. Simply search for Oake Bradford & Nynehead school, then choose to support our school. Here is a direct link <>

Every time you shop online, rather than head straight for the shop’s website, click on to, then select the retailer you want to buy from. Shops such as John Lewis and Marks & Spencer donate up to 2% of your shopping basket’s total.

You will find nearly every shop you could think of on the easyfundraising website, with each shop donating a certain percentage of your spend, or a fixed amount for every transaction.